I love Momentous Mondays! I have been planning for the last couple of weeks what my Momentous Mondays would be. But as Scripture states in Proverbs 16:9;the mind of man plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps. As momentous as it was being at our beloved pastor, John MacArthur’s home, this weekend for brunch with Patricia, there was a moment more precious to us that happened on Saturday…

…do you see this precious face? That is the face of my first born, the joy of my heart, his name means laughter and that he certainly is. On Saturday night we were having our family Bible time. We are reading through the Bible and we are currently in Numbers.

We were reading Korah’s rebellion in Numbers 16. Korah with some other men had gathered 250 of Israel’s congregation to come up against Moses and Aaron. Speaking against God’s men is a serious sin, it means you are against God Himself. They were judged for their sin and then swallowed up by the earth and the 250 men were consumed by fire.

After we were done reading James asked Isaac if he was standing against Jesus or if he was standing with Him. My little boys face was gripped with fear and tears started to flow. The word’s that came out next I wasn’t expecting. “I’m standing against Him.” My heart sank and my stomach turned but then I realized this wasn’t the end. As I cried I took his hand and the conversation went something like this…

“Lovey, you don’t have to stand against Jesus. Jesus wants to forgive you, that’s why He created you, that’s why He came to earth to die for your sins and that’s why He lives again. He doesn’t want you to be punished for your sins, He will take that punishment for you.”

James and I went more into detail about the gospel. It is a little fuzzy, the specific conversation, in silent prayer, I pleaded for my son’s life. That the LORD in that moment would open his eyes and grant him true repentance, that this would be a genuine confession. James asked Isaac if he wanted to pray and told him this wasn’t something we could do for him. He needed to do this on his own.

James prayed first, and then his little tear filled prayer went like this, “Lord….please forgive me for my sin. I will love You and obey You. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.”

James and I are praying to see fruit of his confession. I know it will take time. There is no greater joy than for a mother then to see her children walk in truth.

In all of this James and I were greatly convicted over the fact that we don’t pray enough together for our boys salvation. We aren’t pleading with our Father like any moment could be their last. God has given these children to us, to pray relentlessly for, to guard and to shepherd, to live our lives before them, like nothing else matters but Christ…because nothing does. To show them that being consumed by Him is the greatest joy, that will live on for eternity.

I always tell Isaac (while grabbing his little face and mushing his cheeks together) “Isaac, if you grow up to fill your heart with anything but the Lord Jesus Christ, mommy has failed at her job as your mother.” He always laughs but he knows it’s true.

If you remember please pray for him! This was most certainly a moment I will cherish!!!

Don’t forget to enter the Puritan Picks One-year-subscription-giveaway!

Don’t loose me Subscribe to California Coates!

~Erin
You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

