I am so excited to be featuring this company! Puritan Picks is such a wonderful company. For those of you who don’t know them, they are a Christian DVD lending library. They have everything, DVD movies, documentaries, history, conferences, apologetics, theology and so much more. If your a homeschooling mama, your going to want to get in on this, it is an amazing resource!!

Randy from Puritan Picks has been so great to offer a one-year-basic-subscription! I had a chance to ask him some questions, he is a solid guy! Here is the interview:

Why did you start Puritan Picks?

We are Christians who have been greatly encouraged by the writings of the Puritans. We have also been greatly encouraged by the increased amount of faithful video’s and films being produced to equip the saints amongst a corrupt age of post-modern “Christianity.” Many of the good solid teaching DVDs are expensive and hard to find. Puritan Picks was an attempt at creating something that would make them easier and cheaper for families to obtain.

What ages do you target?

We carry DVDs for all ages including toddlers. However, most of our doctrinal, theological and historic DVDs are more suited for high school, college and adults. Having come out of a modern evangelical background, many of these DVDs were helpful to my wife and I in understanding church history, proper biblical hermeneutics, theology and apologetics. While we do cover a wide spectrum of ages, I believe young students, homeschoolers and adults can benefit most from our collection.

What is your vision for your business?

To provide Christians and their families with solid biblical resources and entertainment in the form of digital media.

How has the Lord blessed you in starting Puritan Picks?

We receive e-mails from customers about how Puritan Picks is blessing them and what they are learning through our DVDs. This is what blesses us 🙂

A few months ago, my husband and I were convicted over the way we use our time. Ephesians 5:15-16 says:

Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise,making the most of your time, because the days are evil.

Our oldest son and I love to watch movies. But I felt like we were wasting precious time watching movies, that essentially had no eternal value. Movies that took my focus off the Lord and onto my flesh. With the level of depravity in the world today, it is clear that the movie industry is obviously effected, even in children’s movies. Some are subtle innuendos others are more blatant.

I started to feel discouraged because I love this time with my son, but I also want to make sure that I am guarding his heart. Now I am not throwing every children’s movie under the bus, there are still ones we enjoy but for the most part it is being wise about how we use our time as a family.

We have some Christian children’s movies but not a lot, and lets face it the library and local movie store are exactly flowing with edifying movies. Then a dear brother in Christ bought us a membership to Puritan Picks! Now we want to share with you!

**Sorry to my sweet Canadians but this is only open to US residents**

To enter, head on over to Puritan Picks check out the selection and leave a comment stating a movie you’d like to see.

Other entries, blog about this giveaway, Facebook or Tweet the giveaway, become a follower of @calicoates on Twitter. Become a fan of California Coates on Facebook.

Don’t loose me Subscribe!

