I have been convicted lately in the area of integrity. I am so grateful to the Lord for the wonderful earthly blessings of my babies. So why is it that I can so easily let precious moments with them pass by because I am engaged in something else? Why is it that I so easily have a cold or harsh tone with the people I love the most? Why do others get the best of me? I noted this in the getting dressed challenge. My sweet baby said to me after the first day of the challenge, “Why are you dressed like that mom?” “dressed like what sweetie?” “in that shirt and those jeans? Are we going somewhere?” although it was funny, it stung a little. I am really starting to realize other people really do get the best of me.

So here is my endeavor in the Lord’s strength and through the power of prayer that my family get the best of me. That I am the same woman inside the home as I am outside the home.

I know that being a mom we sometimes feel burdened by our children, that should never be.

God’s word says in Psalm 127: 3-5 “
3Behold, children are a gift of the LORD,
The fruit of the womb is a reward.
4Like arrows in the hand of a warrior,
So are the children of one’s youth.
5How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them;
They will not be ashamed
When they speak with their enemies in the gate.

The Lord chose us to be the mother’s of these children, not someone else. He did not need to give us these children nor was He obligated. But He did, before the foundation of the world He chose us to be the mother of the children He has given as a gift to us….we don’t deserve these gifts.

John MacArthur says in his book:
God gives children. He gives them as a blessing, as a benediction, and as a grace to life.

Nor do we know how long these precious gifts will be given to us. I want to make every moment count, for the glory of God alone.

So I thought I’d do something fun (if I have any takers) I know when I hear other mom’s speak of their children, it brings to mind all the blessings God has given me in my children. Every month (or if I have more entries) I like to feature a child on my blog. So we are able to focus on the joy of our children and see them as the gifts they truly are.

Write down all the blessings that God has given you in this child.
What are their special talents that God has given them?
What fun things do you enjoy doing with just them?
What is their personality?

Now you can do a write up on just one child at a time, with multiple entries or chose to do all in one. Please send a picture of them when you do your write up. If you feel uncomfortable sending a picture or even naming your child that is okay. I will use a generic silhouette and you can use initials for their name. Even if you don’t want to do this for my blog, I challenge you to do a write up of them, you will truly be blessed as you bring to mind what the Lord has done for you. And you will also have the blessing of them one day reading it and seeing what their mother thought of them and that they were cherished by you.

I hope you have fun with this!
~Erin

