Pleases-GodAround Christmas time,I had a women comment on one of my posts in regards to the role of women in the church. I am not sure who she is but because her comment was public I am going to copy a portion of it hoping she doesn’t mind.

“Proverbs 31 is a heavy weight to live up to (in our own strength of course) and it is sometimes difficult to know if it is a “model” for all of us, or a beautiful image of a “perfect” daughter of God, wife and mother…most Christian women strive for this and yet I doubt many of us really understand what it truly means. It is not beyond our grasp to really “get it” as we continue to seek God, but I for one have not had that 100% illumination and “ah-ha” moment on this text”

Her comment really got me thinking because there are so many who look at this text and misunderstand it. There are others that think it is great but think she is a little too out of reach for our lives today.  Because of the cultural barrier they write her off as cultural text, an amazing women of her time, but not one that needs to be modeled in our  marriages, families and homes today.

So my goal is to do a full study of the beautiful women in Proverbs 31. In the book called Becoming a Women Who Pleases God by Pat Ennis and Lisa Tatlock I am going to review chapter by chapter who exactly this counter-cultural women is. She was no doubt, even in her time, a women who was counter-cultural.

I am going to attempt to do a new chapter review every Monday. I am hoping this will help me to get through the book and complete it in timely manner.

The back of the book states:

Wise women live by God’s timeless, unchanging, standard. They want to know what He thinks. They do what He commands. They love Him. They infuse their homes, their families, and their churches with care, dignity, and grace

During the next couple weeks I am going to look at the women in Proverbs 31 and see how I can apply these 11 timely principles to my own live today and how God expects of me to live. I hope I can use this one day with my own daughters or encourage others to live according to the Word.

  • Virtue
  • Energy
  • Economy
  • Trustworthiness
  • Physical Fitness
  • Prudence
  • Unselfishness
  • Preparedness
  • Honorability
  • Lovability

~Erin

