Okay, so I’m not sure if I am just in a phase of nesting because all I want to do is cook and bake (Isaac loves it). I came across this recipe and thought, wow that is super weird, maybe something that weird would be really good. I will try just about anything being 7 months pregnant but I don’t like everything I try. I have made some not so nice recipes this month just trying out new ones. Now my wonderful, loving hubby(whom I am so grateful for his patience and testing on my new meals while I try to figure out how to manage our budget food wise) doesn’t like beans (even though you can’t even taste them) so this is my special treat. I made a big batch and put some in the freezer to eat on nights when he is at work. This meal is a pretty frugal recipe and costs anywhere from 75 cents to $1.00 per burrito. If I really did my hunting and used my own beans I could pull this off for about $6.00 for the entire batch of 12. I thought that was pretty good considering I try to make our meals for $3.00-$5.00. I think just before the baby (Lord willing) comes I will make a big batch of these to freeze for after he is born, I just hope it doesn’t pose a gas problem :-/

I think next time I will do a little more onions because I just love them and I used a mild cheese (that’s all I could get) but next time I will use a sharp or Mexican blend. I also substituted black beans for the kidney beans (mostly because they are only 74 cents a can) and I let the seasonings sit a little longer in the bean mixture to release the flavors. I also used  low carb wraps to knock down some of those carbs. Top it with sour cream after baking and voila! This one is a definite keeper and I just wanted to share with you all!!I was real hesitant too, but don’t knock it til ya try it! Did I mention these are super good for you too?!

burritos

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 cups canned kidney beans, drained
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 4 teaspoons prepared mustard
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper, or to taste
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 4 cups cooked and mashed sweet potatoes
  • 12 (10 inch) flour tortillas, warmed
  • 8 ounces shredded Cheddar cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Heat oil in a medium skillet, and saute onion and garlic until soft. Stir in beans, and mash. Gradually stir in water, and heat until warm. Remove from heat, and stir in the chili powder, cumin, mustard, cayenne pepper and soy sauce.
  3. Divide bean mixture and mashed sweet potatoes evenly between the warm flour tortillas. Top with cheese. Fold up tortillas burrito style, and place on a baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven, and serve.
