See that the work of saving grace be thoroughly wrought in your own souls. Take heed to yourselves, lest you be void of that saving grace of God which you offer to others, and be strangers to the effectual working of that gospel which you preach. Beware lest, while you proclaim to the world the necessity of a Savior, your own hearts should neglect him, and you should miss an interest in him and his saving benefits. Take heed to yourselves, lest you perish, while you call upon others to take heed of perishing; and lest you famish yourselves while you prepare food for them. Though there is a promise of shining as the stars, to those “who turn many to righteousness,” that is only on supposition that they are first turned to it themselves. Their own sincerity in the faith is the condition of their glory, simply considered, though their great ministerial labors may be a condition of the promise of their greater glory.

Wow was I ever convicted by this quote. Of course to examine myself to see if I am truly in the faith as Paul says but mostly am I looking inward or always pointing to someone else when I hear correction or a reproof?  James and I just finished having a conversation about this when we correct Isaac and we are giving him the biblical standard to live by in hopes that the Lord would save him by His glorious grace, are we adhering by our own words? It is so easy to read the Word,  listen to a sermon or hear a reproof given and point the finger at someone else without looking inwardly to see if you are guilty of the sin yourself.  Before we came to California I was constantly thinking when I heard a sermon…oh so and so needs to hear this or this would be so good for this person…but missing the work the Lord desired to do in my own obviously prideful heart. A work the Lord is continually doing in my heart and how grateful I am of the Lords faithfulness and patience with me.

In regards to salvation what a thought of not being in Christ, of taking my own punishment for every sin I have ever committed and ever will commit,  many days have I spent asking myself I am truly saved, could I have just made up this whole thing? I am trading more outright sin for sins of subtly or is the Lord truly molding me into His image? These are questions that I am continuously asking of others but what about me?! Though my motives are always to bring the people that I love into a right standing with God and that grow for His glory,  what a better servant to the Lord I would be if my own soul was my primary concern.  What promises we have in the Word of God that if we confess our sins He is faithful and Just to forgive us and cleanse of from all unrighteousness.  Knowing I am in Christ is resting in His promises and that He has done what He said He did and He is who He says He is! I am His. No more living for my own selfish desires, now only to glorify the Lord and humbly submit to the Work He predestined me to walk in before the foundation of the world!  

~Erin

